

Castlefield School- Geography

Topic: UK countries, capitals and seas

Year: Two

Theme: Locational knowledge

Key Vocabulary

Important facts • We live and go to school in England

- England is a country
- There are four countries in the United Kingdom (UK): England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland
- Each of these countries has a capital city and a flag
- The Republic of Ireland is a separate country that is not part of the UK.
- Great Britain is an island—it is surrounded by seas:

The Irish Sea

The North Sea

The English Channel

_					
a i	Country	Capital City	Flag	National Flower	
	England	London	+	rose	
	Scotland	Edinburgh	×	thistle	
	Wales	Cardiff		daffodil	
	Northern Ireland	Belfast	×	shamrock	



- The UK, is officially known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- The UK includes the island of Great Britain, Northern Ireland and many smaller islands



capital city	The city where the government sits. London is the capital city of England and the UK.	
city	A large town. London is a city.	
country	An area of land that is controlled by its own government.	
England	A country in the United Kingdom.	
flag	A piece of cloth that can be attached to a pole and is used as a symbol of a particular country.	
human geography	Features of a land that have been impacted by human activity.	
island	A piece of land that is completely surrounded by water.	
Great Britain	An island that is made up of England, Scotland and Wales.	
London	London is the capital city of England and the UK.	
physical geography	Natural features of land.	
sea	A large area of salty water that is part of an ocean.	
surrounded	To be enclosed from all sides.	
village	A small group of houses, perhaps with a few shops, that is often in the countryside.	